Friday, April 24, 2009

Introducing CARBON LEAF

Carbon Leaf
Band members
Terry Clark: Electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
Carter Gravatt: Acoustic, electric mandolin, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, 12 string guitar, lap steel, bouzouki, bodhran, loops, effects, vocals
Jason Neal: drums, percussion
Jon Markel: Electric bass, Upright bass
Barry Privett: Vocals, penny whistle, acoustic guitar, bagpipes

Former band members
Palmer Stearns: Bass
Scott Milstead: Drums, percussion, vocals
Brian Durrett: Bass
Jordan Medas: Electric bass, bowed and double bass, vocals


Barry PrivettCarbon Leaf got their start at Randolph-Macon College in Virginia in 1992 practicing in an auditorium on campus. Their next step was playing backyard parties, mixers, fraternity, and sorority parties. Shortly after everyone graduated they moved to Richmond, Virginia. From Richmond, they played the college circuit in Virginia and up the East Coast before moving on to clubs.

Meander, their first album, was released in 1995. The first songs Carbon Leaf wrote, including "One Day" and "Country Monkee" are on the album.

Shadows in the Banquet Hall, released in 1997, includes some beloved fan favorites: "Flood," "Wolftrap and Fireflies," and "Attica's Flower Box Window." An award winning video was made for "Flood."

Ether~Electrified Porch Music (1999) is the first album with Jordan Medas as the bassist. Ether features several concert regulars including "Home" and "American Tale."

Echo Echo was released in 2001 with "The Boxer" as the first track. "The Boxer" went on to bring Carbon Leaf local, regional, and even some national recognition. In January 2002 Carbon Leaf won the first-ever American Music Awards Presents the Coca-Cola New Music Award for "The Boxer." As part of winning they performed "The Boxer" live on the AMAs to 80 million television viewers worldwide. Following this appearance, "The Boxer" entered regular rotation on radio stations including Washington, DC's DC101 (WWDC 101.1 FM).

In May 2002, the band members gave up their day jobs in order to dedicate more time to the band and touring.

In 2002, Carbon Leaf contributed the hidden bonus track "Dear" from their Echo Echo CD to the soundtrack of the Kevin Hershberger Civil War drama "Wicked Spring". The haunting, flute-driven dirge plays for its full 7:37 minutes over the entire length of the closing credits.

5 Alive!, Carbon Leaf's first live album, was released during the summer of 2003. The album was taped over several concerts the preceding winter with the track list assembled to match a concert playlist.

In September, 2003, Carbon Leaf won the Pontiac Vibe Summer Sound off resulting in "The Boxer" being played in Pontiac Vibe commercials on MTV and VH1.

In Spring 2004, Carbon Leaf signed with Vanguard Records, part of the Welk Music Group, home to Nickel Creek, Mindy Smith, John Hiatt, Allison Moorer, Sinéad O'Connor, and Sam Bush.

July 2004 marked the release of their first album on a label, Indian Summer. The first two tracks, "Life Less Ordinary" and "What About Everything?", have received airplay across the country. "Life Less Ordinary" rose to number 5 on the AAA (Adult Album Alternative) charts and 29 on the Hot AC Charts. "What About Everything?" rose to 25 on the AAA charts. Indian Summer has been ranked in the top 10 by KMTT in Seattle, and number 40 out of the Top 50 Albums of 2004 by WXPN in Philadelphia. The album was produced by John Morand and David Lowery. Morand had previously produced albums by Guster and Sparklehorse, while David Lowery is the frontman and guitarist of both Cracker and Camper Van Beethoven.

The video for "Life Less Ordinary" debuted on January 5, 2005.

Carbon Leaf has opened for acts like Dave Matthews Band, Something Corporate, O.A.R., and David Gray, and has toured with Jason Mraz, Blues Traveler, Great Big Sea, Jump, Little Children, Matt Nathanson, Big Head Todd and the Monsters, and The Avett Brothers.

Their style is not "Brazilian Polka Metal", despite the joking claims of guitarist Carter Gravatt (B., David. 2002.[2].

In June 2006, an interview with Carbon Leaf guitarist Terry Clark was chosen as the cover feature for the inaugural issue of The Green Room magazine, which also reviewed Love, Loss, Hope, Repeat in its September issue, awarding it a 9/10.

On September 12, 2006, the band released Love, Loss, Hope, Repeat. According to their blog, it was recorded in Nashville, Tennessee, and mixed in collaboration with producer Peter Collins and mixing legend Trina Shoemaker. (2006. "Monterey International Booking". Retrieved June 3, 2006) The title track was featured in the October 30, 2006 episode of ABC's What About Brian.

In Fall 2006, Tom McCormack began touring with Carbon Leaf, playing keys and accordion.

In memory of the lives lost in the Virginia Tech shootings, Carbon Leaf played at Sudflood 2007. All proceeds went towards the memorial fund for the victims and their families.

In August 2007, Scott Milstead was replaced by Jason Neal on drums. In August 2008, Jordan Medas left the band to pursue a teaching career. He was replaced in October 2008 by Jon Markel. [3].

The band will release their seventh studio album, Nothing Rhymes with Woman, on May 19, 2009 [4]They have also stated in their shows that they will be contributing several songs to the sound track to the sequel to Universal's Curious George, including a version of Life Less Ordinary with new lyrics.

No comments: